Flying to Malaysia

“All my bags are packed, I’m ready to go.”  John Denver sang those word, but I don’t know that he ever flew to Malaysia with two young kids.  We are all so excited – and about 80% packed – but as you can guess, we are not quite ready to go.  I think we will be ready just when the plane takes off!

Many people have asked about our flight:

Boys on plane at Constitution Park

Getting ready to fly to Kota Kinabalu, Malayisa – by going to the park!

we will fly from Dulles to Los Angeles (6 hours), then to Singapore (24 hours), then to Kota Kinabalu (6 hours).  With layovers, travel time is about (yikes…) 50 hours.  But we come prepared:  my mom, Donna Breslyn, bought gifts for the boys to unwrap (including mouthpieces that make your whole face light up from the inside… don’t tell the boys!) and we’ve been loading up the Kindle Fire that Eric’s parents got Dante for his birthday.  Can anyone play 50 hours of Angry Birds?

In the end, we know that we fly “on a wing and a prayer.”  Whenever I’m tempted to worry over what we have (or haven’t) packed, or what travel will be like, or what we do once we get to KK, I remember how many people are praying for us.  I remember that the Holy Spirit intercedes for us with sighs too deep for words (Romans 8:28).  And I know that with God, we can go into this adventure with hope, joy, and peace.  For this I say:  Thanks be to God!

3 responses to “Flying to Malaysia

  1. Happy flights! 🙂 What I remember as the worst part was waiting in the terminals during layovers. My long-flight tips: drink lots of water, and get up every once in a while and take a wander around the cabin.

  2. Via con Dios! Go with God!

  3. Yes, one can play 50 hours of Angry Birds:)

Leave a Reply

