Day 4 of 20 *Questions*: Why do I like [cupcakes] more than I like [people]?

But to be real with this question, you probably have to switch the words.  This exercise is hard for me.  What do I like more than something else that I’m supposed to like?  Let me see…

I like cookies more than I like healthy food.  Sort of.  I like carrots and beets.  But I really like cookies in addition to healthy fare.  Hmmmm.

I like jeans and a ponytail better than I like lipstick and blouses.

I like singing with the radio more than I like talking to my kids.  (at least, in the morning, when we are often all disagreeable).

I like not having an accountable job more than I like being a pastor.  Sorry, God and the folks who funded years of seminary training.  But I’ll come back to it, when the time is right.

Hmmmm.  I don’t know if I’m getting anywhere.  I think I could go deeper, but then I’d have to admit my shortcomings, vices, and the “idols” in my life.  That is hard.  That is really hard!  I guess I’ll have to ask myself this question in coming days, and be open to answers I don’t want to hear.  I’ll hope that the article that posed this question is right – Ms. Beck says, “Forcing virtues drives us to vices that offer false freedom from oppression.  Stop trying to like the things you don’t like, and many vices will disappear on their own.”  When I think about idols and oppression hidden in the exercise above, I wonder where else in life I might find freedom.  These are big things.  That is probably why this is so difficult for me.  Is it difficult for you?

Leave a Reply

