Day 18 of 20 *Questions*: So say I lived in that fabulous house in Tuscany, with untold wealth, a gorgeous, adoring mate, and a full staff of servants… then what?

So… now what?  The biggest discovery is: I’m still me.  The things that really challenged me over the past few years?  Still here.  Still a part of both my world and my core identity.  I still want to eat less sugar and get better abs; I still want to snap at my kids less; I still create arguments over little things; it still takes me 20 minutes to get out the door once I’ve got my keys in hand.

Now, living in paradise makes it easier to accept all of those things.  Living the dream life is great, and I really encourage you to write down your top 10 dreams, and see which ones call to you the loudest, and see what concrete things you can do for 10 minutes most days to reach out towards those dreams.  But don’t pretend that your dream life will make you any less yourself.  You have to love yourself, who you are, right now, because otherwise getting closer to your dreams won’t bring you joy or pleasure.  Start with loving the you that came up with big dreams, and then give that You what s/he needs to come alive.  That way, if the dreams don’t pan out, you will still have lived those days/months/years in love rather than in lusting after something that didn’t turn out to be yours.

I am definitely still me.  And I think, that is a blessing – that in meeting up with my dreams, I didn’t lose myself.

"Sand

Leave a Reply

