Bedtime Blessings

Whew! I’m writing this because we made it through bedtime! Alleluia!  Tonight Eric is teaching a night class and it’s hot … so for a treat I let the boys fall asleep in our bedroom (where our aircond unit is).  Dante read in the living room for awhile (which still amazes me … 2 years ago every printed word was cause for tears) while Cade and I laid in the dark, cool bedroom on the fuzzy carpet floor (I got tired of tiles everywhere … it’s nearly shag carpet… I love it!)  We talked about his day, his class, and I listened (because I was laying still on the floor, my “get stuff done” attitude turned off for a bit) and he began remembering bits of books his class had read two years ago.  Something in the silliness/beauty of the memories led me to thinking of camp (I love camp) and so Cade and I sang “the Pasta song” which goes like this:

Some people like pasta; some think it’s alright.  Whatever our uniqueness, God made us ri-i-iight.  Pasta! Pasta! Pasta! Makes us one of a ki-e-i-e-ind.”  And then you add other things – our verses tonight were food-themed – Porridge! Ice cream! Pasta! Makes us one of a ki-e-i-e-ind.”

At which point Dante came in for bed and demanded more camp songs.  I’m a good sport, but I was also tired.  Then both boys actually agreed on a song.  Think of the wonder of it: two brothers, age 6 & 9, willingly agreed on something.  Stop the presses.

They wanted the song “One Body,” which I suddenly couldn’t remember at all.  But Dante started singing, Cade joined in, and then I began to remember the words and melody as well.  It’s a gorgeous song – click the lyrics below for a link to one sung version of it.  As I lay there on the floor with two kids not only singing about living together well, but actually DOing it, images from our life these past weeks scrolled by in my mind.  

We are one body, one body in Christ;
and we do not stand alone.
We are one body, one body in Christ;
and he came that we might have life.

That part about not standing alone brought home to me the wonder of what life is like when people take time for each other, whether it’s praying, giving kids a ride home, bringing a card, checking in online, and what I’ve heard so often – “If you need anything, please, ask.”  I’m not driving yet and I can’t even do the dishes, but I do not stand alone and that’s what is keeping me sane.  Impatient, sore, and not sure what I should be up to – but sane is a good baseline, and I’d say we’re even positive.  The kids chose the same song … it’s like a little sign that says “we can do this, we can even find a way to stick together.”  

The boys are asleep now, and I soon will be, but I wanted to share this song with you.  I learned it at Mar-Lu-Ridge this summer, a Lutheran camp in Maryland (though we used fewer and different verses … everyone has their own version, I think).  The song rings a certain way in my ears; I wonder how it will sound to you, where you most need to know that you don’t stand alone, that God has a life and future for all of us despite our bickering and fatigue.  I’m posting this at my bedtime – it’s morning in the USA – but I wish you good dreams, whether waking or asleep, and the hope that God’s love will continue to shape our communities and our lives.

One response to “Bedtime Blessings

  1. remember, if you need more words and songs, I have your Mar Lu Ridge song book………………………

Leave a Reply

