Christmas Songs Day #8

Internet cable stolen for 8th time since July – not just a little bit, we’re talking hundreds of meters of cable each time.  About a week to fix.  We have learned to upgrade our data plans for our phones, so we can hotspot and use internet on our laptops.  But of our 3 laptops, one can’t receive wifi, one stopped turning on at all, and the one I’m using has no sound (the drivers were lost when we reformatted the laptop in order to salvage it.)  So … I’m sharing this song via YouTube, and hoping that the music is what I am expecting!  (and I’m hoping that I’m not duplicating Day #8…)

This is the 2nd Peter Mayer song so far, and there will probably be more off his album Midwinter.  The song is – click here – God Is A River.  It doesn’t mention Christmas exactly, but it recognizes how we need to let go and let God, and the holidays are  a good time to practice it.

“In the ever-shifting water of the river of this life
I was swimming, seeking comfort; I was wrestling waves to find
A boulder I could cling to, a stone to hold me fast
Where I might let the fretful water of this river ‘round me pass

And so I found an anchor, a blessed resting place
A trusty rock I called my savior, for there I would be safe
From the river and its dangers, and I proclaimed my rock divine
And I prayed to it “protect me” and the rock replied

CHORUS:
God is a river, not just a stone
God is a wild, raging rapids
And a slow, meandering flow
God is a deep and narrow passage
And a peaceful, sandy shoal
God is the river, swimmer
So let go…”

Purchase his album, listen to sample tracks, find lyrics here...

Leave a Reply

